Handmade Christmas Cards

This year, based on the fact that I now write a craft blog and EVERYONE we know, knows I am a crafter, I have decided to hand make all our Christmas cards.

You know what it’s like, time runs away with you, present shopping, loads of children’s parties (Oct/Nov/Dec is like kids party central here!) and general family life gets in the way of me being able to take a few hours out of a hectic schedule to plan and create some Christmas masterpieces. Last year I managed to stitch some cute little cards using a pattern from Cross Stitcher Magazine, which was kind of like the Emily Peacock Circus letters pattern, saying XMAS, HO HO and similar.

This year, I decided to try something quicker and simpler but still with a nod to craftyness. My inspiration has come from my big button jar which is looking sadly neglected in my basket.

After a quick search on Google I came across these beautiful button based Christmas cards;

Picture credit: milomade.co.uk

Picture credit: shoutycatmakes.co.uk

I found some brown card blanks and envelopes on Amazon http://www.amazon.co.uk/A6-CARD-BLANKS-300GSM-50PK/dp/B004JALWZ4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1353066944&sr=8-1 and set about designing my card. Using the stacks of button and ribbons I have in my over flowing basket, here’s my first attempt;

I’ve machine stitched the bauble string in red thread and then glued a selection of buttons onto the end. Using one of Missy’s sparkly pens I’ve added a cute bow and a final flourish with the red and white spot ribbon along the top to tidy up the machine stitching. I bought some Christmas stamps a few years ago so had the perfect ‘Christmas Greetings’ stamp to add to the bottom. Ten down, 40 more to go!!

8 thoughts on “Handmade Christmas Cards

  1. Can I just say, I love your blog! I find it really inspiring and although I haven’t yet done any of my own crafty projects yet, I’m sure I will. You make it really accessible and show how easy it can be. Love it. The Christmas cards are ace too! x

  2. Pingback: Sorry Guys :( « Krash Bandikoot

  3. Pingback: Handmade Christmas Card Ideas « Folk Haven

  4. Pingback: Homemade Christmas Cards « The (anti) Procrastination Diaries

Leave a Reply

