Today I have been mostly making…cushions

I’m a bit of a late comer to the world of homemade cushions. I have seen them being made on TV (Kirstie’s Homemade Home springs to mind) and have been told how to do it by friends and family but as yet I’ve not taken the plunge. My sewing machine and I are still getting to know each other, so I’m not massively confident – however straight lines aren’t a problem ūüėČ

We’re decorating our spare room at the moment. After much hope that it was going to be a baby nursery, that dream hasn’t come true so after some encouragement from hubby we have¬†created a grown up room for guests and also, a chill out, den type space. We’ve been quite¬†bold and painted the small room dove grey and lined one wall with bright pink and silver flowery wallpaper (obviously that was my choice for the room, not his!). It’s very different to the rest of the house where I’ve tended to go for muted tones – cranberry and tan in the lounge, duck egg in our bedroom, pale pink in Missy Moo’s and old English green in the kitchen. All with the odd touch of Cath K here and there off course.

After picking Missy up from school today, we spent the afternoon shopping for accessories for the new room. Sticking with the soft grey theme we found a grey silk lampshade from Homebase (a bargain in the sale!) but were stuck for cushions. Whilst back at the house, hanging the grey curtains and hemming them I realised I had enough fabric to make matching cushions for the room. So Рdeep breath Рhere we go.

To prep I watched this GREAT video tutorial on You Tube by Molly Quest http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y4OLOuGmnCU. And it was so easy! I literally cut my fabric, pinned it in place and sewed two straight lines! Am soooo¬†chuffed! Here’s a pic of the work in progress. All you have to do is cut your chosen¬†fabric to size –¬†two and a half¬†times wider than the cushion,¬†¬†leaving 1.5cm seam allowance top and bottom. Turn the fabric right side up pin the seams and sew.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Make sure you mitre the corners by snipping the corners off to ensure when you turn the cushion in the right way you have sharp corners.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thanks to Mollie Makes Magazine for the vintage style pink rose buttons which added the final finishing touch to each cushion. I am amazed at how easy these were to make so family and friends – expect cushions for Christmas!!

3 thoughts on “Today I have been mostly making…cushions

  1. You could certainly see your enthusiasm within the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always go after your heart.

Leave a Reply

