Handmade Wedding Shrugs

If you’ve read previous posts you’ll know that knitting really is my first love. It’s one of the first crafts I remember being taught by my mum and re-discovered my love for this gentle, therapeutic craft about eight years ago.

Since deciding to ‘go public’ with my crafting obsession via this blog, I’ve become a bit of a mini craft guru in my circle of friends and family, so much so that one of my friends from work – Becky – has given me my first ever crafty commission! Becky is getting married to Tristan on the 8th December this year and is having a suitably beautiful, winter country wedding. After much hunting, she’s decided to commission some very simple knitted cape/shrugs fastened with a small ribbon and vintage brooch for her three bridesmaids.

She’s chosen to use Sidar Softie Super Chunky in Muffin (a muddy cream colour, gorgeous). So I have around 10 weeks to design and knit three beautifully, hand-finished bridesmaid shrugs. I’ve decided (with the bride’s agreement of course) to keep it simple and knit, what will essentially be, a garter stitch rectangle to cover the neck, shoulders and finishing around the upper middle back. I will then thread through some cream ribbon to pull the cast on and off edges into the middle and fasten. Wish me luck! I will post pics of progress as I go.

Here’s some of Becky’s inspiration for the shrugs…

Leave a Reply

