Zip and Tuck

Zips have long been something I’ve avoided coming into crafty contact with. They look scary and complicated to fit, you need a different foot for your sewing machine for goodness sake so I have avoided like the plague. But in the interests of completing my pile of stitchy goodies, I’ve taken the bull by the horns, purchased a universal zipper foot from e-bay and taken the plunge into the world of zips and tucks.

Using one of my favourite stitchy books http://www.amazon.co.uk/Cath-Kidston-Stitch/dp/1844008738/ref=sr_1_sc_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1349096212&sr=1-2-spell I’d completed the Stanley Dog cross stitch pattern ages ago and had every intention of turning it into a little zipped bag… nearly a year later it was still sitting in my craft basket. Here’s what it looked like in the book;

And here’s my stitched version before making up;

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The instructions seemed pretty simple so I bravely cut my lining and backing fabrics and sandwiched with the zip as per the book told me. After FIVE attempts at sewing and un-picking (grrrrrrrrrrr) I finally managed to get the zip in the correct way and the fabrics correctly aligned. I’ve chosen a thin dark denim for the backing and a really nice stripey jersey for the lining. What do you think? I am sooo chuffed that I’ve managed to conquer my zip fear and am really thrilled with the result. It almost looks – dare I say it – professional!

4 thoughts on “Zip and Tuck

  1. Great finish 🙂 This is a great Scandinavian project. I happened to stitch the very same 🙂 mine ended up framed and a picture, which is always a part of my xmas decoration.

  2. Pingback: Mini make-up bags | Knit Stitch Sew

Leave a Reply

