Super Quick Baby Sampler

Congratulations are in order. Our friends have just had their second child, a baby boy called Aaron Joseph, a brother for our daughter’s best friend, Emmie. A new baby is always a great craft opportunity but what to do when the parents don’t find out the baby’s gender? Rather than knit a cream blanket, I decided to stitch a quick cross stitch sampler.

Using some simple but effective alphabet patterns and cute toy motifs  from Cross Stitcher Magazine, I was able to rustle up a gorgeous little sampler in an evening or two. I’m really pleased with how it’s worked out. I’m so used to creating girly pieces, I had to have a good root around in my stash box to find a more appropriate boy colour pallette – blues, greens, purples, yellows and a splash of red.

It’s so quick, I think I could be on to something here…perhaps a bespoke baby sampler business? Could be the start of another crafty comission! And here’s the finished result, framed in a wooden hoop and backed with navy blue felt.

2 thoughts on “Super Quick Baby Sampler

Leave a Reply

