#imapiece campaign for Save The Children

As I dive deeper into the world of crafty blogs I’m discovering some great people, doing great things, using craft as the messenger for tough and sometimes unpalatable messages.

I’ve recently come across #imapiece over on Hilary at UK Craft Blog’s site http://www.ukcraftblog.com/2012/10/Im-a-piece-of-thesolution.html urging the craft community to help create a giant jigsaw embroidered with provocative messages to support the charities Race Against Hunger campaign. Hilary, alongside other notable craft bloggers  Lauren O’Farrell aka Deadly Knitshade of Stitch London and Jamie Chalmers aka Mr X Stitch will be headlining this worthwhile event.

I’ve committed to taking part and stitching my own contribution which will be a piece of a jigsaw puzzle, which together with other craft blogger contributions will make an art installation to raise awareness of the issues of world hunger. Direct from Hilary over at UK Craft Blog is THE reason to get involved; “I’m joining this campaign to change the ugly, downright unbelievable, statistic that three hundred children die of totally preventable hunger related causes every single hour. That’s more children dying every hour than make up an entire typical primary school. That’s the equivalent of twenty four primary schools of children dying of preventable causes every day.

As mum of one primary school child this was particularly impactful for me. Hilary and the #imapiece team are currently travelling to Sumatra with Save the Children, and after speaking with Hilary over Twitter the other evening about how much she will miss her children during the eight day trip, it reminded me/gave me a kick up the backside(!) to get started on my own little part of the jigsaw puzzle.

Here is the piece in progress (with the all important cup of tea to hand);

And the finished result

My stitching really does leave a lot to be desired! Definitely something on my things to improve on list for 2013. I can’t seem to keep small and consistent stitches but I guess practice makes perfect.

I’m looking forward to hearing about the #imapiece team’s travels and also to see all the puzzle pieces together. I love the idea that crafters across the UK are using their skills to bring attention to plight of children across the world. I’ll be posting again on this topic, once the pieces are all brought together and we know the outcome of the Save the Children campaign. Watch this space.

If you’re a crafter (or thinking of getting started) this is a great little project to boost your confidence or will be super easy for the seasoned crafter to whip up in a few hours. The web-hub for the campaign is here http://imapiece.craftivist-collective.com/  and you can find puzzle piece templates, inspiration for quotes to stitch and the contact details to pass your piece on once it’s finished. Do let me know if you intend to take part and post your pieces once you’re finished.

One thought on “#imapiece campaign for Save The Children

  1. Pingback: #imapiece comes to Manchester! « Black Cat Originals

Leave a Reply

