Why Do I Blog?

Over on Twitter i’ve been following https://twitter.com/DillyTante and the various musings of this self-described Mother of two, paper pusher, craft blogger, yarn bomber, feminist, wannabe psychologist, and avid mumsnetter.

Following some truly ridiculous slurs comments from Liz Jones some silly woman about mothers who blog after being invited (!!!) to be a key note speaker at the Mumsnet BlogFest conference this year, Dilly has been asking us bloggers a simple question. Why do you blog?

So here you go!

Why do you blog?

I blog for myself first and foremost. I’ve always enjoyed writing and have been a bit of a lonesome crafter for the past couple of years, so it seemed like a great way to combine both of my passions and have a forum through which to reach out to fellow crafters. I am also a teensy, weensy bit addicted to social media so have been reading blogs for years and always thought ‘I could do that’. I’ve only been blogging for around three months but its addictive, I love sharing my passions with family and friends and its a great way to meet like-minded people. It really is a talking point in my life.

What do you get from it?

A creative outlet, a place to share advice and ideas. It’s also fast becoming a place I use to record my thoughts, crafty to do lists and just things I really like. When I was little I loved trawling through magazines (still do) and tearing things out, sticking them into scrapbooks (don’t do) or putting them on my pinboard in  my bedroom. My blog is the perfect way to collate all of these thoughts and cool finds. It also allows me to channel my creative energy into real projects and encourages me to finish them!

 Is it trivial and is that ok sometimes?

Yes and yes! I don’t think that matters. I’m not paid to write my blog. It’s my hobby and if you don’t like reading trivia don’t read it!

Why should people be interested in what you write?

I don’t expect anyone to be interested, it’s for me, about me.

But if they are, great. I’m meeting more and more people who have been secret squirrel crafters but for some reason it has been hidden away. I’ve lost count of the amount of people who wrongly assume only grannys knit or people who are ‘mumsy’…(being a mum I don’t think there’s a worse insult) enjoy craft. Its creative, artistic and fulfilling. Wise up people!

Do you care if they are not?

NOPE!

If you blog just for you why do it publicly?

I use my  blog to connect with others who craft and to share ideas, tips and try my hand at a few different things I might not have come across before. It’s also a great way to virtually ‘meet’ people.

What value do you think you are adding to the world by blogging?

Being a working mother, I think it’s important to show you can do other things, pursue hobbies and have some ‘me time’ that doesn’t involve a spa or a bottle of wine and some chocolate (although I do enjoy both of those pursuits!!). Also sharing my belief that crafting isn’t for grannys!! (see above!)

Do you feel defensive about blogging?

Not defensive but guarded. Even though I don’t blog about my family or life much outside of crafting in comparison to other ‘mummy bloggers’ it is still a personal account of your life.

For this very reason it took me a year or so to decide to take the plunge and share my blog with my family and friends. Most exposing of all is the inevitable self promotion you undertake as a blogger on social media – for me that means Facebook and Twitter) and therefore opening yourself up to criticism from hundreds of people you’ve never met. Fingers crossed, so far I’ve only had a positive response.

Picture credit: thepittfamily.wordpress.com

This is a blog hop!

6 thoughts on “Why Do I Blog?

  1. Here here, excellently written and well said Verity. How you fit it all in is well beyond me, it’s been on my to do list for years, but you know how it is in London… busy yah…. X

  2. I loved reading your answers. I love how blogging has opened my eyes to the fact that there are other crafty mothers out there, for some reason I find that people don’t tend to talk about it in person!

Leave a Reply

