Gorgeous granny squares

As part of my ongoing journey into the world of crochet, I’ve started a granny square blanket project as requested by my sister Amy.

She has been surfing Etsy for inspiration a came across an old school blanket with a fab colour palette of rainbow brights like pillar box red, egg yellow and bottle green. There’s something about the simplicity of these colours that appeals. My usual colour palette is more sophisticated plums, navy’s, grey’s – I guess more modern and I usually seek out quality branded yarn with a merino or cashmere mix (Debbie Bliss cashmerino is a particular fav). In order to get these bright colours I’ve chosen an acrylic mix yarn, which although cheap has a brilliantly bright colour and strong fibre – perfect for crochet.

The pattern I’m using comes from good old Ravelry and is a basic granny square pattern using treble crochet clusters. I’m getting more confident with pattern reading now and helpfully, am able to recognise the stitches I’m making and therefore mistakes, enabling me to check my work and amend if necessary. Sounds simple but this is a major breakthrough!

So here’s the first batch – the colours look a bit dull here but believe me the orange is practically neon and that’s navy around the outside, not black. I really must sort out my photography! I particularly like the ombré effect with the yellow and orange sat next to each other, perhaps an idea for my next granny square blanket – reds to pinks, greens to blues?

20130220-231401.jpg

20130220-231421.jpg
I think I’m going to do a 5 x 6 square blanket, big enough for a cot or toddler bed coverlet. Will keep you posted on the progress and finished result.

4 thoughts on “Gorgeous granny squares

  1. You’re doing so well with your crochet Verity. I can knit, sew, embroider, macramé etc but have never mastered crochet. I must challenge myself. Any suggestions as to where to start? I’ve loads of wool and a whole set of hooks so the world is my oyster as they say! I really enjoy your blogs.

    • Hi Chris, happy to teach you! Have a search on You Tube for basic crochet videos, I think you really need to watch someone do it as (for me anyway) the patterns and illustrations just don’t make sense to a beginner! x

  2. Pingback: My yummy yarn | gluisyarn

Leave a Reply

