Tots100 Bristol Blog Summit

Tots100Collage

Last Friday 8th March, I was lucky enough to be invited along to speak to 60 parenting, lifestyle, food and craft bloggers at the M Shed on Bristol’s Harbourside. The summit was organised by Sally Whittle, journalist, blogger and founder of Tots100, to get bloggers together and talk about how to maximise their blog, share tips and advice and ultimately to put faces to names and Twitter handles.

Despite being slightly scared about meeting ‘real’ bloggers and having to stand up and talk to them about PR, everyone I met was really lovely and I think I’ve made some connections which will last long after the blog summit. *waves* to Lottie at oyster-pearl.blogspot.co.uk/, Lou from littlegreenshed.blogspot.co.uk/, Claire at grubbylittlefaces.com/, Lucy from capturebylucy.com/, Emily at emilybealephotography.com/blog/, and Frankie from frankiesfancies.com/. It was lovely to bump into Louise from Sew Scrumptious too, great to see a familiar face!

The day got off to a brilliant start with eloquent guest speakers Christine Mosler  and Annie Spratt, who talked about approaches from charities and how to use your blog for the greater good. Top tip – make sure your content is unique and the blogger has a personal connection with your cause.

Next, we heard from Cathy James who shared some great insight and tips about driving traffic to your blog from Facebook and Pinterest. Along with some brilliant insider info about how to create collages for blogs (PicMonkey is my new best friend) and scheduling posts and status updates for our American friends (Pingraphy is an app which helps you schedule Pins). A top tip I picked up from Cathy was to enable a good mobile view on your blog. When Cathy did this her page views doubled overnight.

The third speaker was Tom from Fresh Egg, who I have to confess made SEO, Page Rank and follow/no follow links interesting and understandable. I now know about bots, spiders and penguins crawling all over my blog and checking up on my content. Thanks Tom.

Finally, the very lovely Becky and Tom Arber gave us a really brilliant talk on photography and how to get the best out of your camera. This was massively useful for me as without a studio, lights, stylist and a professional photographer I’m really struggling to take some good snaps of my makes! More on this in another blog as there were literally LOADS of tips I am going to try and implement once I get my craft room up and running.

Thanks Sally for inviting me – I had a ball!

Tots100funCollage

Picture credit: Tots100/Tom Arber

7 thoughts on “Tots100 Bristol Blog Summit

  1. Was lovely to meet you again and catch up. Thought you were were great doing your bit. Had to rush off at the end as on the bus but meant to say that we are running some more dress making workshops in June at Paper Village in Southville. If you fancy coming along just shout and I’ll let you know the dates. x

  2. Pingback: Blogger Summit Update #2 | 25ToFly

  3. Pingback: How to Be a Good Guest Blogger By Sally Ormond | That Raise?

Leave a Reply

