Crochet and I are now friends…

It’s taken four-ish months, one workshop, umpteen You Tube videos, lots of practice and some ripping out and starting again but I finally feel like crochet and I are friends. In fact (whisper) I think I like it more than knitting. I love the intricacies and delicate details you can create with a crochet hook and some yarn. It’s a great stash buster too.

Have a look at my journey from never-held-a-hook before beginner to now-I-kind-of-know-what-I’m-doing amateur…

Crochet

The pink and green messy squashed square was my first ever attempt at a granny, back in November,  followed by the little orange and green number below. The multi-coloured granny on the left is my current project. It’s great to be able to see an improvement. I’ve made 21 of these crochet squares so far…only another 9 to go to craft my first ever crochet granny square blanket.

4 thoughts on “Crochet and I are now friends…

  1. Hi.

    I just saw the link to your blog in my statistics and I thought I’d pop in and see who my visitor is 🙂

    Well done on your crochet actions. Looks like you have got hooked 🙂 and your progress is clearly visible. And if you’re enjoying yourself, that’s great too!
    I’m also thinking of rekindling my relationship with a crochet hook! Ive got books, tutorials, patterns – just need to find time to sit down and practise.
    At the moment my knowledge of the crochet is very basic – can make a chain and a small crochet flower but I dream of making granny squares and white crocheted snowflakes for the xmas tree and hundreds of other ideas. There are so many great crochet projects out there that it would be shame to miss on them.
    keep up the good work 🙂

  2. Hi, I came across your blog via twitter and saw you are starting to crochet too! Do you recommend any good tutorials for other newbies? A group of us have the materials and the stitches just need to put it all together with some good tutorials on reading patterns. It looks so quick compared to knitting! Your work looks great btw! Sam

Leave a Reply

