V&A Museum of Childhood

Missy and I visited the V&A Museum of Childhood in Bethnal Green, London last week. What a place! Highly recommended if you’re in London and looking for something to do with kids this half term. It’s not too far out of Central London (just get the Central Line tube from Oxford Circus) and is something a bit different than the usual Natural History Museum or Science Museum (and their half term queues!).

I’ve really wanted to blog about this but have been struggling with what to say other than its brilliant – so I think i’ll leave it at that!  My top three things to look out for on your visit are;

  1. The exquisite dolls houses up on the top floor – Missy and I have decided to makeover her dolls house using these as inspiration
  2. A beautfiful range of samplers from the 1700 and 1800’s
  3. My childhood icon Jem and her bandmate Stormer…no sign of the Misfits though!

V&Adollshouses

http://www.museumofchildhood.org.uk/

4 thoughts on “V&A Museum of Childhood

  1. I agree! We went last summer and although it was a little bit off the beaten track it was well worth the visit. Issy had been learning about Punch and Judy at school when they had an exhibition there. We even spotted some toys that Grandma still has displayed!

  2. That looks like it would be a great place to visit. The dolls house is incredible. My mum’s Aunt had a dolls house with RUNNING WATER… I never managed to convince her to let me plumb mine 😉

Leave a Reply

