A Crafty Day Out – Creative Stitches

Last weekend I took a little trip over to Shepton Mallet (in the middle of nowhere!) to visit the Creative Stitches Fair, which took place at the Bath and West Showground. I usually go to the Exeter Westpoint  fair with my mum every September but thought I might as well have a look at this one, seeing as it’s fairly close to home.

So, after a very long and windy drive through the Mendips I arrived at the fair. As usual at these things, I felt like one of the youngest there by 30 years! Why is that? From all of the blogs and magazines (and now TV shows) out there, I’m assuming there are some younger crafters out there somewhere?

Anyway, the usual suspects were there, Black Sheep Wools, Craft 101, Husqvarana, Singer, Janome etc.  Black Sheep Wools http://www.blacksheepwools.com always have a brilliant stand at these kind of events, with mountains of wool at great prices. And as, usual I came away with a stack of beautiful wool to add to my stash.

IMG_0206

Of course, fabric was top of my list. Because, you know, I don’t have enough… I found this really sweet fabric and couldn’t resist a little metre of it. It was only £2.75…

IMG_0207

Was thinking I’d make a swimming bag for Missy or perhaps a cute summer dress?

By far, the best thing about the day was the machine embroidery workshop I did with Jan Tillet. Take a look at my previous post to see what happened there. I LOVED it!

There were some really beautiful stands there with amazing examples of stitching and knitting. Check out these enormous knitting and crochet needles on sale from Rachel John at Extreme Textiles http://www.racheljohn.co.uk/

extreme needles

I went with a list of things I needed, really boring things like a thimble. (Can’t believe I’ve just written that sentence, but yes the time has come when I need a thimble) and some plastic bobbins for my machine. I couldn’t find anything at the show that I thought was a reasonable price to pay. £9.99 for a pack of eight plastic bobbins in a little plastic case? No thanks, I’ll go to eBay. Ditto with thimbles. Lots of fancy new ones but I just want a basic thimble to stop myself stabbing my finger every time I stitch.

The show was perhaps more taken up with papercraft than i’d like. I just can’t get excited about paper and card, I like the touchy-feeley -ness of textiles and can see endless combinations and ideas. I think I’m addicted. And am blaming it on  my mother!

Leave a Reply

