Quick baby gift idea

My husband isn’t really the most organised person in the world. If you get him a diary, he looses it. If you have a calendar in the kitchen to add dates to, he forgets about it. Grrrrr. The other evening was a prime example of my lovely husband’s organisational skills.

I got a call at work at 4pm the other day ( I finish at 5pm) to ask if I could pick up something for a colleague of his who was leaving THE NEXT DAY to go and have her first child. THE NEXT DAY?!!

After trawling around the shops near my office (Sainsburys, WH Smith, Boots, Holland & Barrett…er no) I came home thinking I’ll have to make something, would rather spend my evening rustling up a gift than paying out for something I don’t really like! Luckily, I found a brand new blue, jersey baby blanket/towel in my stash of fabrics. Not quite sure where it came from but in my job as a PR consultant, I often get little, random freebies and gifts that I tend to squirrel away for a rainy day.

It was quite boring but nice none the less, so I decided to decorate a corner with some little cross stitch. I used my newest book for inspiration – Cross Stitch and Embroidery for Babies, Toddlers and Children http://www.amazon.co.uk/Made-France-Cross-Stitch-Embroidery-Toddlers/dp/1742661300/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1371201868&sr=8-2&keywords=Isabelle+Leloup

I used DMC’s soluble canvas to stitch the design onto the blanket. This is great stuff, do give it a go if you haven’t already. You can stitch on anything and then the canvas literally dissolves on contact with water.

baby blanket cross stitch

After five minutes in some warm, soapy water and a night in the airing cupboard, my husband had a lovely, bespoke baby gift to give to his friend. Brownie points for me!

Leave a Reply

