Ava’s beautiful baby cardi

I’ve finished!

I don’t know about you but I get such a sense of satisfaction from finishing a big knit project. This was a double ‘yey’ for me as I usually shy away from knitting clothes… I’ve never been confident with sleeves and collars but this project seems to have excised a few demons. Hopefully it’ll be the start of many. (cardigans not demons…)

I started the cardigan about two months ago so it has taken quite a while to finish but, I think typically, I get bored pretty easily so like to pick up other, smaller projects in between. As I work full time, I’ve also been picking this up in the evenings and at the weekends so time hasn’t really been on my side. Anyway, enough of the excuses. It’s finished. And I’m very pleased with the end result.

Here’s the work in progress…

Ava cardigan

The pattern came from a book I borrowed from the library yonks ago. I took photos of the patterns I wanted to tackle on my iPad but cleverly, forgot to take a pic of the cover, so sorry, I can’t tell you who the pattern author is. I was attracted to it because of its simplicity both in the finished garment and the making up. It was knitted in one piece which was a new skill for me, luckily my mum was on hand to help me when I got into a bit of a pickle with the first sleeve. I wasn’t quite sure how to knit on following the first sleeve without twisting the work.

The piece is worked using short rows, which I found endlessly facinating. The entire cardi is knitted in garter stitch with the main pattern as follows K35, turn and knit back twice, K47 turn and knit back twice, K54 turn and knit back twice, K 2 rows. Consequently the cardigan grows in width and length giving a bit of a swing effect to the hem. I love it!

I’ve taken a picture of the garment before and after steam blocking. I am forcing myself to do this to all my work now, following a very motivating post on a lovely blog Posy Gets Cozy. Aside from beautiful photography and an abolutely gorgeous baby girl, the Alicia knits lots of children’s cardigans and this post really showed how useful blocking can be; http://rosylittlethings.typepad.com/posie_gets_cozy/2013/06/my-entry.html

Post blocking, the cardi is much thinner and less bulky around the hem, meaning it ‘swings’ nicely. I love how blocking also helps disguise any little errors or snags in the wool.

For the finishing touches, I’ve added a navy grosgrain ribbon around the yoke and also as a lining behind the buttons.

Avas cardi

3 thoughts on “Ava’s beautiful baby cardi

  1. That is a sweet cardi you’ve made. I did the same thing once with a
    pattern….forgot to get the author and title of the book. I wanted to knit
    some leg warmers with tabs and buttons up the side, now I can’t find
    that book!! lol
    Happy knitting.
    Cheers, Anita.

  2. This is so beautiful. It’s so refreshing to see baby’s clothes particularly knit wear in colours other than baby blue, pink, yellow and mint….I have nothing against those colours at all but as a lover of navy, greys, taupes, heather colours for knitted or crocheted items, this cardigan of yours ticks that box! The finish trim is also what makes it so unique. Lovely. Kate x

  3. Pingback: The Weekly Glint – Ribbons and trims | Knit Stitch Sew

Leave a Reply

