Beshley’s Wool Shop

I am super duper excited to have stumbled across a beautiful new wool shop in the heart of Clifton. And more importantly, around the corner from my office!

My early morning hunt for a car parking space was illuminated by the realisation I’d parked outside a brand new wool shop called Beshley’s Wool Shop on Alma Vale. I nipped in to have a quick mooch around and was amazed at how lovely the shop is. So much so I left my car keys in there!!

Anyway, the first thing you notice are giant crochet balls in the window and also the light and airy nature of the space. The shop is light and bright with retro fittings and fixtures. I love the display table as you walk into the store and the wool stacked high in shelves. It makes browsing really easy – I could easily spend hours making my way through the stacks of wool and other crafty accessories.

By far my favourite section of the shop, is at the back, past the till area, where a dresser stocks second-hand knitting needles, buttons and other bits and bobs. As you’ll know from a previous post of mine about craft markets – this is my kind of stuff!

Beshleys stocks only British wool, trimmings and materials which is great to see. I am too guilty of nipping up to Hobbycraft to buy the big brands – Rowan, Stylecraft, Debbie Bliss – without a thought for where or how the wool is sourced or manufactured.

The shops featured brands are Artesano, Blacker Designs, Erika Knight, Jamison & Smith, Jon Arbon Textriles, West Yorkshire Spinners and Woolyknit. I’ll definitely be trying to knit British this year, inspired by the beautiful yarns on offer at Beshleys.

It’s great to find a little start-up in the heart of Bristol, the shop fits in really well with the eclectic mix of vintage and second-hand stores on Alma Vale and in Bristol in general. I look forward to many hours (and £££’s) spent in Beshley’s very soon.

For those not in Bristol – you can order via the website http://www.beshleyswoolshop.com/ and have a look at the latest goings on at Beshleys on their Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/BeshleysWoolShop

beshleys

Leave a Reply

