I love baby commissions…

Now it’s not as if I’m trying to boost my SEO or anything like that – what will this Royal baby activity this week… but really and truly, I have been focussed on the most lovely baby commission for the past couple of weeks and by coincidence finished it today!

So, a quick aside about said Royal baby. Was it just me who felt warm and fuzzy inside when Wills and Kate came out onto the steps of St Mary’s Hospital in Paddington with their little Prince? And had a massive flash back of those early days of no sleep, a crying baby (and mummy – who doesn’t really know why she’s crying but she is anyway) and trying to get back to ‘normal’ even though your life will never be your old version of normal ever again! Bravo Kate who, despite having a professional blow dry and her make up done (lets face it who wouldn’t, given half the chance) proudly showed her post baby bump.

Anyway back to some Knit Stitch Sewing… I’ve been commissioned by an old friend to embroider onto her newborn twin’s first ever vests – their names, date of birth and weight. What a great idea! A really lovely keepsake for any mum. I can’t lay claim to the idea myself but it’s so simple and (I hope) will look really effective. I’ve called this new make ‘Precious Memories’. She has also ordered three more vests for a close mummy friend, who helped her through the first tricky months with newborn twins.

We decided on keeping the vests very simple, really they could have had all sorts of cutesy, pretty and frankly unnecessary decoration on them, but it was agreed on simply stitching each baby’s name, date of birth, time of birth and weight. Using Anchor embroidery thread in a candy pink (colour 40), I used DMC’s soluble canvas to stitch the words in place.

PicMonkey Collage

I’ve worked with the DMC soluble canvas before (when I can get hold of it – ebay seems like the only consistent supplier) but have usually struggled to totally clear away the starchy residue in the washing process. For those of you unfamiliar with soluble cross stitch canvas, once you have stitched your design you simple trim the excess and gently in lukewarm water, handwash the waste canvas away. Or so it tells you on pack.

This time I did some research and found a great tip which suggested using boiling water and a splash of fabric softener to get rid of the sticky-when-wet canvas. This worked a treat! Two of the vests suffered slight puckering in the finishing process but all in all I’m pleased with the result and I hope the mum who ordered and the mum who will receive the Precious Memories Vests will be pleased.

IMG_0876

So what do you think Duchess of Cambridge? Prince George Alexander Louis, 22nd July 2013, 16.24, 8lbs 6oz….

One thought on “I love baby commissions…

Leave a Reply

