September Magazine Round-Up: The Knitter and Inside Crochet

I’ve gone a bit crazy on the magazine buying this month. I don’t know. Something to do with the night’s drawing in, it’s a bit colder… who knows but most evenings this month I been reading about crafting rather than actually doing any! I’ve taken full advantage of some great subscription offers out there at the moment – Future Publications (Mollie Makes, The Knitter, Cross Stitcher Magazine) are doing three magazines for £5. It would be rude not to!

Landing on my doorstep this month were the aforementioned Mollie Makes, The Knitter and Cross Stitcher Magazine supplemented with Crafty Magazine and Inside Crochet. The last two aren’t usually on my monthly magazine reading list but I was really drawn in by some great comments and reviews via Twitter for Inside Crochet and a great front cover from Crafty Magazine.

So first up Inside Crochet. I’ve never bought this magazine before (not sure why, its great!) but the front cover really sold it to me. I really like the photo shoot styling – not too twee or over-stylised. The up front, In The Loop section was really interesting, I didn’t feel like I’d read any of the stories anywhere else. Loads to read too. My favourite projects from this issue were the Bella Necklace Trio, Leonie Cardigan and Little Bo Mittens.

inside crochet

The Knitter is another magazine I don’t buy often. I purchased the first couple of issues but found them a bit too advanced for me and not that inspiring either – lots of lacy shawls and Intarsia cardigans. I did, however, like the fact that they had loads of ‘stuff’ to read. Not just little nibs either but real, meaty features and interviews with industry experts. Issue 62 doesn’t disappoint. Rosse Woodland’s Greenwich Village socks are gorgeous and I love Lynne Barber’s Stacked Necklace – this will look great for work teamed with black or navy. Overall, I feel like The Knitter is a little grown up for me to buy every month but its nice to dip into once in a while.

The Knitter

Next up, my review of Mollie Makes, Cross Stitcher Magazine and Crafty Magazine.

Leave a Reply

