Orla Kiely Spring/Summer 2014 at London Fashion Week

Last weekend I was lucky enough to be invited to preview Orla Kiely’s Spring/Summer 2014 fashion collection, as part of London Fashion Week.

photo

Now usually, this wouldn’t fill me with excitement. Forgive me – I know it sounds uber glam but after years of working at fashion weeks, first as a student at the famous London College of Fashion and latterly as a PR, backstage with models, photographers, make-up artists – I have seen and been a part of the true slog and hard work that goes into making a show come to life. The glamour and glitz has lost its sparkle for me.

However, I love Orla Kiely. I have a few of her bags that I’ve collected over the years, which are much loved and have also recently purchased some of her wallpaper for our upcoming bedroom make over, so did I fancy seeing her fashion collection? Yes, actually, I would!

The show took place in a small (no, make that TINY) art gallery which can only be reached by climbing the most precarious flight of steep, narrow stairs in central London called Elms Lester Gallery, near Covent Garden. We had to queue for quite a while to get in, which for me, was almost the best part! It meant I got to people watch all of the amazing, weird, wonderful and quite frankly, odd outfits of my fashion show going comrades.

Really it was anything goes, which is what makes London, London I guess. Everyone was individually the same… if you know what I mean. There were lots of chunky heels, leather jackets, tartan and pink! Pink coats in particular were really popular in the queue.

Anyway, onto the show. The Orla girl is off on safari in 2014, a camping trip with a difference in the dusty African savannah. Short suits, chiffon dresses, shirt dresses and a-line skirts came in burnt oranges, navy and soft pink with beautifully bold animal prints. My favourite was the giraffe print – presented in the orange and navy colour ways. I particularly liked an orange giraffe print short suit, sounds crazy but looked amazing!

001_304x456

The styling was great, girl guide meets posh camper. The music was pretty fab too – The Lion Sleeps Tonight and In the Jungle *a whim a way, a whim a way* were the perfect accompaniment. If you want to view from the collection, Vogue has the best selection of photos, here; http://www.vogue.co.uk/fashion/spring-summer-2014/ready-to-wear/orla-kiely. Here’s my blurred selection, check out the cheeky giraffe drinks stirrer photo-bombing my pics…

Orla Kiely

Oh and we had a bit of a celeb spot, Kate Nash was spotted congratulating Orla on her collection, and I got to have a quick chat with Orla too. Not a bad way to spend a Saturday!

Leave a Reply

