Doing the bird…

This little bluebird is causing a bit of a stir over on my Pinterest page…http://www.pinterest.com/veritycash/boards/.

2270b7b2b212b956beb64c6200c79664

I found this cute little bird a few weeks ago, whilst whiling away the hours on Pinterest and pinned it to my crafty Christmas board, thinking if I knitted this in red and stitched some white detailing, it would make a cut tree decoration. And that was that.

Until I checked back the next day when I saw quite a few people had pinned it. And the next day, when more people had pinned it. And now a week later over 100 people have pinned this pin!

I felt compelled to try to make this little critter. How hard could it be? The pattern is a free one from Ravelry by designer Sarah Elizabeth Kelner, you can find the pattern here http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bluebird-of-happiness-2. It’s knitted in the round which, admittedly, isn’t top of my knitting skill set but I wanted to give it a go. Here’s my first attempt…

photo (3)

Wahhhh! What’s happening? Why is it going wrong? I have the correct number of stitches on the needles but my purl section is showing as bumpy instead of smooth. I have cast on 18 stitches and split between the three needles, followed the pattern faithfully (I think). It’s knitted from the bottom up so this should be the little bird nether regions… Any pro knitters out there with any advice? Trust my Mum to be on holiday when I have a knitting emergency.

4 thoughts on “Doing the bird…

Leave a Reply

