An Ode to Tacking

My latest craft obsession is tacking. Yes plain and simple tacking. Not fancy or clever but solid and helpful and actually a really good thing to do properly which saves loads of time in the long run.

If you’ve read any of my blog posts before you will know that I’m not a great machine sewer and one of my challenges to becoming better is patience. I’m after quick results and I want them now!

Tacking was always the thing in the pattern I skipped. Until now. I am now a fully signed up advocate of tacking to achieve a great finished garment or item. After a few mistakes on my Liberty Sewing Machine Cover, I decided to tack the sides to the cover and insert that way. It was like a miracle.

The fabric didn’t move, I didn’t sew over pins by mistake. And the best bit? I could test I’d put the pieces together in the correct way BEFORE machine stitching and then being faced with ripping out all of those tiny tight little machine stitches.

I used a bright red thread and nice long running stitches on my project so they are easy to see and remove once machine stitched.

c7cf85e376bc4ed864286f581d1f0bef

One thought on “An Ode to Tacking

  1. Damn, I wish I had your good sense! I never tack and then wonder why I sometimes have to reach for the unpicker. Great sewing machine cover, and a lovely gift for Mothering Sunday x

Leave a Reply

